Series : Iolo Morganwg and the Romantic Tradition in Wales 1740–1918

Detholiad o Emynau Iolo Morganwg



Cathryn Charnell-White
Published  2009
ISBN  978-0-947531-93-5
Publisher University of Wales Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies
Price £14.00
Size 228 x 152 mm
Format Clawr papur/Paperback, xvi+277



This volume includes 240 edited hymns by Edward Williams (Iolo Morganwg; 1747–1826) and a glossary and introduction. The hymns are arranged according to the following themes: the Divine, Praise to God, Jesus Christ, the Unitarian Church, the Godly Life, Unitarian Worship, Eschatology, and the Gorsedd of the Bards of the Island of Britain. The introduction places the hymns in their historical and generic context and demonstrates the way in which they throw light on the ideology of the early Unitarian society, as well as on Iolo Morganwg's political and religious radicalism and his multi-faceted personality.